Monday, October 4, 2010

St George-Illawarra Dragons are 2010 NRL Premiers


Written by: Joe McCord
Oct 3, 2010 7:50pm

The St George Illawarra Dragons have won the 2010 Grand Final with an emphatic 32 points to 8 victory over the Sydney Roosters in teeming rain in front of a massive ANZ Stadium crowd of 82,334 screaming fans.

After trailing 8-6 at the break the Dragons were untouchable in the second 40 piling on 26 unanswered points to take the trophy.

Winger Jason Nightingale was in career best form bagging a double as was lock Jeremy Smith who was unlucky to miss out on the Clive Churchill medal, given to fullback Darius Boyd who put in a top display as well. Captain Ben Hornby was also sensational. For the Roosters, Jason Ryles was tireless and Mitchell Pearce was scheming all day. Dally M Player of the Year Todd Carney unfortunately failed to make much of an impact when it mattered.

The Dragons were the first to score through Prodigal son Mark Gasnier but the rest of the first half belonged to the Roosters. With Carney's failure to convert keeping the game to within 2 at half time.

The second half was a completely different story however with the Dragons defusing several Roosters attacking opportunities and having all the luck at the other end.

The Dragons victory becomes their first as a merged entity, the first premiership for those in the Illawarra region and they become just the second merged entity to secure a premiership, The much deserved victory should finally put paid to the chokers tag and caps off 2 years of NRL dominance.

No comments:

@TheFooty Podcast Episode #001

powered by podcast garden